Home news 33 South South Leaders endorse Goodluck Jonathan for second term

33 South South Leaders endorse Goodluck Jonathan for second term


follow us on twitter @citypulse_ng

Better believe it, politicking for 2015 has well and truly begun.

Last week it was South-East leaders endorsing the candidacy of
President Goodluck Jonathan for 2015, this week the endorsers are from
the South-south geopolitical zone. They met yesterday in Effurun, Delta
State, under the aegis of the South-South Peoples Assembly (SSPA) and
agreed to endorse Jonathan to run for a second term in 2015.

The man who led the charge, and made the call for the leaders to
endorse the Jonathan candidacy was —no surprises there— Chief Edwin
Clark. To his call, the echo from every single person present, was a
resounding ‘yes.’

Clark, who was the convener of the meeting, berated northern
political leaders for their undue antagonism to the south-south, ever
since since  President Jonathan assumed office in 2011. As he usually
does nowadays, he specifically mentioned some leaders of the north, like
Alhaji Lawal Kaita, who he said threatened prior to the 2011 elections
that unless a northerner emerged as president, they would make  the
country ungovernable, adding that these leaders have also recently
threatened that except a northerner succeeds Jonathan, there would be
“no Nigeria.”

He charged them to rise above sectional interests as their threats
were fuelling the Boko Haram insurgency. Clark said that the North was
doing everything possible to shut down the South-South hence they were
calling for the abrogation of the 2004 Act which ended the
onshore/offshore dichotomy so as to cripple the South-South region.

ALSO READ  Baby Mama, Amber Rose, Tattooed Wiz Khalifa’s Face On Her Body (PHOTOS)

For the records, these are the names of the other men who endorsed Jonathan for a second term at the meeting:
1. First civilian Governor of Edo State and National Chairman of the Assembly, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.
2. Former Governor of Bayelsa State, Chief Diepreye Alamieyesegha
3. Former Inspector- General of Police, Mr. Mike Okiro.
4. Chief Whip, Sen. Roland Owie
5. Senator Lee Maeba
6. Senator Tara Sikibo
7. Former Minister of Education, Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi
8. Senator Francis Osakwe
9. Senator Cairo Ojugbo
10. Prof. Saliba Mukoro
11. Senator Francis Nwajie
12. Environmental activist, Annkio-Briggs
13. Mrs. Monica Akiri
14. Dr. Brown Adasan
15. SSPA National Secretary, Whiskey Ayakeme
16. Chief Francis Dongbonlagha
17. Gen. Anthony Etukudor (rtd)
18. Chief Isaac Jemide
19. Prof Solomon Okobia
20. Brig-Gen Idada Ikponmwen (rtd)
21.  Julius Okojie
22.  K.B Omatseye
23. Chief Godwin Ogbetuo
24. Chief Moses Odibo
25. Chief Lucky Esigie
26. Chief Samson Mamamu
27. Adora Giwa-Amu.
28. First civilian Governor of Delta State, Olorogun Felix Ibru
29. Ex-Military Administrator, Air-Commodore Idongesit Nkanga
30. Senator Francis Spanner Okpozo
31. Former Chief Whip, Mrs. Stella Omu
32. Former Minister of Information, Prof. Sam Oyovbaire.
33. Governor of Delta State Emmanuel Uduaghan

Previous articleManchester United starlet caught having sex with teenager on camera
Next articleCOSSY AGAIN… Posts fresh photographs of herself in different pose
Adebayo Folorunsho-Francis is a communicator, Journalist, blogger, business coach and, of course, a prolific writer. He has Dip (Journalism) and B.A. (History & International Relations) from the Lagos State University (LASU). The self-effacing young man has worked for national, regional and local newspapers. He had worked with THISDAY covered community news for ISLAND NEWS and corresponded with P.M. NEWS (evening tabloid). Presently, he is the editor of CITYPULSE MEDIA and senior correspondent of PHARMANEWS, West Africa foremost health and pharmaceutical journal.